The Herman Goldstein Award Projects

First introduced in 1993, The Herman Goldstein Award recognizes outstanding police officers and police agenciesboth in the United States and around the worldthat engage in innovative and effective problemsolving efforts and achieve measurable success in reducing specific crime, disorder, and public safety problems. This international competition is named after the founder of problemoriented policing, University of Wisconsin emeritus Professor Herman Goldstein and administered by the Center for ProblemOriented Policing. (The award program was administered by the Police Executive Research Forum (PERF) from 19932007.)

The Center for ProblemOriented Policing has assembled a panel of seven judges, made up of experienced researchers and practitioners, who select the winner and a small number of finalists from among award submissions. Submissions typically come from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia. The judges consider a number of factors in their selection, including the depth of problem analysis, the development of clear and realistic response goals, the use of relevant measures of effectiveness, and the involvement of citizens and other community resources in problem resolution. Police agencies whose projects successfully resolve any type of recurring community problem that results in crime or disorder are eligible to compete for the award. The number of submissions averages approximately 50 to 70 per year, and of those roughly 5 to 10 per year are selected as finalists.

Submit a project for the Goldstein Award


The quality and focus of these submissions vary considerably. With the exception of those submissions selected as winners or finalists, these documents are unedited and are reproduced in the condition in which they were submitted. They may nevertheless contain useful information or may report innovative projects.

You can search the Goldstein Award Documents in four ways:

Tilley Award Projects

The Tilley Award was set up by the U.K. Home Office Policing and Reducing Crime Unit (now the Crime and Policing Group) in 1999 to encourage and recognize good practice in implementing problemoriented policing (POP). The Award, funded by the Home Office, pays for winners to attend the Annual International ProblemOriented Policing Conference in San Diego: this usually provides the opportunity for winners to present their project at the conference. The prizes are presented at the annual UK National Problem Oriented Policing Conference. The Award is open to all UK police forces.

There are three categories of entry

  1. Organizational support in police forces Projects in this category describe work to support frontline problem oriented policing, for example, by freeing up resources, which result in increased problem solving activity, or by demonstrating improvements to problem solving working practice.
  2. Crime and disorder reduction Projects describe work undertaken to reduce specific crime and disorder problems. They can cover the full range of problems encountered.
  3. Partnership projects Beginning in 2003, this is a special award to recognize the increasing role that Crime and Disorder Partnerships have in reducing crime and disorder. Entries in this category must show how the project fits into the local crime and disorder reduction strategy and the role and contribution made by each partner. The projects may be concerned with improving partnership performance through a demonstration of improved delivery of POP or may describe work to reduce a specific crime and disorder problem through the use of a multi agency problem oriented approach. One overall winner is identified in each category, with no runners up.

You can search the Tilley Award Documents in four ways: